State Conference of the German-Polish Society in Duderstadt

The public conference 2019 of the German-Polish Societies in Lower Saxony takes place under the motto “German-Polish Encounters” on Saturday, 1 June 2019, 11 o’clock, in the council hall of the historic town hall of Duderstadt, Marktstraße 66, 37115 Duderstadt.

After a short report from the previous non-public members’ meeting, greetings from the mayor Wolfgang Nolte and the chairman of the German-Polish Circle of Friends in Duderstadt Paul Schneegans are expected. Thereafter, the Lower Saxony Minister of Culture Grant Hendrik Tonne will speak for the state government on the partnership work of the state and the current state of German-Polish relations.

Students of Eichsfeldgymnasium will then present together with their supervisor Ben Thustek the exchange of ideas with students from Duderstadt’s Kashubian twin town Kartuzy. This exemplary town twinning, which is a regular meeting of all generations, has prompted the organizer to get a speaker of Kashubian origin for the presentation of the morning program.

Dr. Miłosława Borzyszkowska-Szewczyk from Gdańsk will inform about “100 years of Polish Independence Day – how did the Kashubians do it?”. The lecturer is a doctor of German and works as a university teacher at the University of Gdańsk. Volunteer she sits before the Günther Grass Society Danzig and works to preserve the Kashubian identity as a stv. Chair of the Kashubian Institute and as a member of the Kashubian Commission of the Polish Academy of Sciences PAU Krakow, section Gdańsk. Most recently, she held a visiting professorship at the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz in the winter semester of 2018/2019.

After lunch together, the Leipzig literary scholar Dr. Hans-Christian Trepte on “From the Polish divisions to the Polish independence”. Our guest is Slavist, Anglist and Polonist. Until 2016 he taught at the Institute of Slavic Studies at the University of Leipzig and is co-editor of “west-east-passages” and other scientific volumes such as u.a. “Basic Terms and Authors of East-Central European Exilliterature 1945-1989”, “National Textures. National Poetry as a Literary Concept in Northeastern Europe (2009) “and” Between East and West: Joseph Conrad in European Conversation “. Dr. Hans-Christian Trepte is holder of the Cavalier Cross (2001) and the Gratitude Medal of the International Solidarity Center (2014).

German-Polish Societies in Lower Saxony e.V.

Harm Adam, chairman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Landestagung der Deutsch-Polnischen Gesellschaft in Duderstadt

Die öffentliche Landestagung 2019  der Deutsch-Polnischen Gesellschaften in Niedersachsen findet unter dem Motto „Deutsch-Polnische Begegnungen“ am Samstag, den 1. Juni 2019, 11 Uhr, im Ratssaal des Historischen Rathauses von Duderstadt, Marktstraße 66, 37115 Duderstadt, statt.

Nach einem kurzen Bericht von der vorhergehenden nichtöffentlichen Mitgliederversammlung werden Grußworte seitens des Bürgermeisters Wolfgang Nolte und des Vorsitzenden des Deutsch-Polnischen Freundeskreises in Duderstadt Paul Schneegans, erwartet. Hiernach wird der Niedersächsische Kultusminister Grant Hendrik Tonne für die Landesregierung zur Partnerschaftsarbeit des Landes und dem aktuellen Stand der deutsch-polnischen Beziehungen sprechen.

Schüler des Eichsfeldgymnasiums werden im Anschluss zusammen mit ihrem Betreuer Ben Thustek den Polenaustausch mit Schülerinnen und Schülern aus Duderstadts kaschubischer Partnerstadt Kartuzy vorstellen. Diese mit regelmäßigen Begegnungen aller Generationen vorbildliche Städtepartnerschaft hat der Veranstalter zum Anlass genommen, eine Referentin kaschubischer Herkunft für den Vortrag des Vormittagsprogramm zu gewinnen.

Dr. Miłosława Borzyszkowska-Szewczyk aus Danzig wird zu dem Thema „100 Jahre Tag der polnischen Unabhängigkeit – wie erging es den Kaschuben?“ informieren. Die Referentin ist promovierte Germanistin und an der Danziger Universität als Hochschullehrerin tätig. Ehrenamtlich sitzt sie der Günther-Grass-Gesellschaft Danzig vor und arbeitet zur Bewahrung der kaschubischen Identität als stv. Vorsitzende des Kaschubischen Instituts und als Mitglied der Kaschubischen Kommission der Polnischen Akademie der Wissenschaften PAU Krakau, Sektion Danzig. Zuletzt hat sie im Wintersemester 2018/2019 eine Gastprofessur an der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität in Mainz innegehabt.

Nach dem gemeinsamen Mittagessen referiert der Leipziger Literaturwissenschaftler Dr. Hans-Christian Trepte zu „Von den Polnischen Teilungen zu den Polnischen Unabhängigkeiten“. Unser Gast ist Slawist, Anglist und Polonist. Bis 2016 lehrte am Institut für Slavistik an der Universität Leipzig und ist Mitherausgeber von „west-ost-passagen“ und weiteren wissenschaftlichen Bänden wie u.a. „Grundbegriffe und Autoren ostmitteleuropäischer Exilliteraturen 1945-1989“, „National-Texturen. Nationaldichtung als Literarisches Konzept in Nordosteuropa (2009)“ und „Zwischen Ost- und West: Joseph Conrad im europäischen Gespräch“. Dr. Hans-Christian Trepte ist Träger des Kavaliers-Kreuzes (2001) und der Dankbarkeitsmedaille des Internationalen Solidarnosć-Zentrums (2014).

Deutsch-Polnische Gesellschaften in Niedersachsen e.V.

Harm Adam, Vorsitzender

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.